Different California Domestic Violence Charges Explained 

There are many situations where domestic violence charges can be filed against a person. The key is to understand what the various types of California domestic violence charges are and how they may apply to your situation.

At Martin Family Law Group, our Los Angeles domestic violence & restraining order attorney works closely with our clients to ensure they have a full understanding of all of the domestic violence charges presented, as well as what those charges mean for their case.

Domestic Violence Charges

There are two specific types of domestic violence charges commonly associated with family law matters in California. Both carry significant risks and punishments.

Domestic Battery

The first is domestic battery, found in Penal Code 243(e)(1). Domestic battery is the use of force or violence against the other parent of your child, someone you live with, or a former partner, including finance, spouse, or dating partner. In this type of charge, a person can be charged and convicted of domestic violence even if they do not injure or cause pain to the other person.

A person who is convicted of domestic battery could face probation, fines, and up to a year in county jail; the court can also require domestic violence classes.

Inflicting Corporal Injury on an Intimate Partner

The second type of domestic violence charge is called inflicting corporal injury on an intimate partner and is found in Penal Code 273.5. This type involves causing physical injury to another person. That person could be a spouse, someone you are living with, or the partner of your child. It may also include a dating partner. This type of domestic violence can also be called corporal injury, spousal battery, or domestic abuse.

Under the state’s laws, a person who is convicted of this type of domestic violence charge could face up to a year in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000 for a misdemeanor conviction. However, if this is a felony charge, it may lead to between 2 and 4 years in state prison, along with a fine of up to $6,000. The consequences increase for repeated offenses.

What You Need to Do Now

If you are the victim of spousal abuse or any other form of domestic violence, it is critical to take legal and protective steps. Start with filing a police report against the party that caused you injury. Then, seek out the help of an attorney who can help you to pursue legal changes. If you are at risk of being hurt or you are afraid for your life for any reason, seek out help from 911.

Allow Our Legal Team to Help You

At Martin Family Law Group, we understand that domestic violence can be a devastating situation, but it is critical to take steps to protect yourself and your family from it. Our team can help you. Set up a consultation with our attorney to provide you with an honest assessment of your case and a free consultation. Call us now to learn more about the different California domestic violence charges.